EWA Awards Vestal Scholarship

October 19, 2017
The Enterprise Wireless Alliance (EWA) is pleased to announce that Akeyvianna Rembert, a senior at Old Dominion University (ODU), will receive this year’s EWA-Joseph B. Vestal Endowed Scholarship. The scholarship awards financial aid to a full-time student at ODU enrolled in Electrical Engineering Technology or Information Systems Management who intends to pursue a professional career in wireless applications or telecommunications. 
Ms. Rembert is the first female candidate to be awarded the scholarship, which honors Joseph B. Vestal, a Distinguished Alumni of ODU (class of 1960), for his innovation and entrepreneurial contributions to the wireless industry. Ms. Rembert intends to pursue a career in cybersecurity. 
“This scholarship helps attract young professionals like Ms. Rembert to the wireless industry as well as to the many opportunities available,” said EWA President Mark Crosby. “The scholarship committee was impressed with Ms. Rembert’s interest in health-related cybersecurity and wishes her all success,” he continued.
Scholarship funds are raised through individual and corporate donations as well as through a silent auction held each year at the Wireless Leadership Summit, a conference for leaders of the private wireless industry.  The 2017 auction raised $5,000, bringing the endowment to $70,000.  Learn more about the scholarship at EWA’s website.
“Each year, the silent auction attracts more conference exhibitors contributing items of high interest which results in more bidders,” said Executive Director, Marketing & Membership, Sarah Beerbower. “The industry recognizes the important work of the scholarship in attracting young talent, and they show their commitment and generosity each year.”
The following companies contributed to the scholarship fund by donating items for the auction:
  •  Advantage Communications
  •  AZZ Inc. 
  • Cobham
  • EMR Corporation
  • Eventide Inc.
  • Fleet Talk Partners
  • Freedom Communication Technologies
  • Mission Critical/RadioResource
  • Motorola Solutions
  • OTTO Communications 
  • pdvWireless 
  • PRIMUS Electronics
  • Tigerpaw Software
  • Unication 
  • Zetron Inc.
In addition, EWA thanks the following contributors to the scholarship fund:
  • Rocky Eramo
  • Leroy Faith
  • Jim Flather
  • JVCKENWOOD USA Corporation
  • Al Leffer
  • Ron Mayes
  • Motorola Solutions
  • Paul Snitker
  • Tim Totten
  • Perry Vincent

About EWA

The Enterprise Wireless Alliance is the leading national trade association and advocate for business enterprises, private carrier operators, equipment manufacturers, and service providers that support the private wireless industry. A frequency advisory committee certified by the Federal Communications Commission, EWA provides its members and clients with consulting services, frequency coordination, license preparation, spectrum management and associated business intelligence services. EWA is the market leader in Business/Industrial Land Transportation frequency coordination services and assists a significant percentage of public safety customers with their spectrum requirements. Learn more at www.enterprisewireless.org.